Pursuing Pinotage!

I have been obsessed with this wine since the New York Wine Expo. I have been dreaming of Pinotage. I have been lusting for the earthy aromas and long full bodied finish of this South African beauty. Pinotage is an unusual South African varietal that is a cross between Pinot Noir and Hermitage. I am in love with it.

So on my last trip to Stew Leonard’s I eagerly searched the South African shelves and was thrilled to pick up this wine. Dark Lady of the LabryinthI paired it with grilled lamb chops in an impromptu barbecue.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the nose I got plum, mocha and berry. And then, I was awestruck by the taste of coffee, mocha, cherry, plum and spice. The wine is very layered and keeps surprising you with more and more; licorice, pepper and chocolate come next. It is truly fabulous. I love Pinotage. I wish it were easier to find. If you do find it run- don’t walk- to the liquor store and buy some. You will not be disappointed.

Priced at $15.00 it drinks like a whole lot more!

Doolhof ‘Dark Lady of the Labyrinth’ Pinotage 2011!!!

Get it now!

At the Wine Expo I tasted Passages Pinotage. It was truly wonderful. Try to get your hands on some of this if you can.

Cheers!

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Pinotage, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.