A Valentine for Wine Lovers

Okay – can you stand one more of these? I promise this is the last one. But very soon it will be Valentine’s Day and what better than chocolate and wine to celebrate. Let me say that again. Chocolate and wine. Yes- and in one very easy recipe. This recipe is so simple and it will make y0u look like you worked hard. It will score you Valentine points. And that is a good thing.

So let’s get started. There are very few ingredients to this recipe. You might even already have them in your pantry. The recipe makes about 25 truffles- that is if you can resist and not eat any while you are making them. Then you can just tell everyone that it makes 25 less whatever the quantity that you ate. In my case it made 20 truffles.

I didn’t know what 200 grams of chocolate would equate to so I used a little less than 2 bars. I used the wine I happened to have had open and miraculously there was enough left in the bottle for this recipe and half a glass to enjoy while I was waiting for the chocolate to be ready to roll.

I used Silver Palm Cabernet Sauvignon. Priced at just over $20.00, this wine is full of cherry, blackberry and spice. It’s been a favorite of mine. Easy drinking- pair it with a meal or just enjoy on it’s own.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are the ingredients:

200 g good quality bittersweet chocolate

10 tablespoons heavy cream at room temperature

3 tablespoons dry red wine

big pinch of salt

cocoa powder for coating  – about 3-4 tablespoons

The recipe said to melt the chocolate over a water bath. I think they meant a double boiler. I don’t have a double boiler. So I improvised. I held a smaller sauce pan over a larger one in which I had water boiling. A little awkward but it worked. More awkward because I was trying to take pictures for you so you could see what I was doing. I probably could have used an extra hand. Or two.

This first part of the recipe was done in a very short time. Less than 5 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Melt the chocolate over a double boiler.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Slowly add the cream. Keep mixing. When the cream and chocolate combine add the wine and salt. Mix until smooth. That’s it. Then pour the mixture into a flat dish and leave in the fridge for a few hours.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After you take it out of the fridge use a small spoon to dish out the chocolate and then roll the chocolate into little balls. Roll the balls into the cocoa powder and put it on a plate.

This was the really messy part. Your hands will be covered in melting chocolate. You will be smelling the chocolate and it will be impossible to not take even one little taste. You will try a ball without the cocoa and another one with the cocoa. And then maybe another one or two just to be sure that they were okay. At least that is what I did. One small trick is to rinse off your hands with very cold water after every few balls otherwise they turn into soft wet melting blobs. I tried to minimize the chocolate to hand time so after I rolled the balls I put them in the dish of cocoa powder and just moved the dish around a bit to coat the balls.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see, my truffles grew in size as I continued making them.

Place the plate in the fridge for another few hours. Voila -ready for some decadent sharing!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These sinful, simple, easy to make and even easier to eat red wine truffles are lush and winey. Perfect for lushes and winos! Cheers!! And Happy Valentine’s Day.

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in baking, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cooking, Eventa, Food, Holidays, Life, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Valentine for Wine Lovers

  1. Pingback: Celebrate Valentine’s Day with Wine and Chocolate Tastings « Kimberley Vassal Insurance Services, LTD.

Comments are closed.