Summer Sangria and the Backyard Beckons!

My house has been such a revolving door lately. Children. Mother. Assorted family members. Friends of assorted family members. A constant whir of changed sheets, bedding, towels, preferred food. Next!!!

Needless to say wine has been the antidote to too much togetherness.

I am longing for a day on the back deck with a glass of vino and George. And no one else!!!

I love company and hosting but now I am tired.

It’s summer after all. I know- the pool beckons and everyone answers the call.

But while I enjoy the muffled laughter of kids and their friends enjoying a late night swim  heard from my bedroom window,  I also enjoy the solitude of a summer evening and my own night swim.

It’s only just past July Fourth. It’s been a tough summer.

I thought I would make a pitcher of a fabulous Summer Sangria and enjoy a bit of quiet time in the backyard.

It”s pretty easy to make and it’s filled with so many summer fruits that you can almost believe it’s a health drink. It is … it promotes mental health! It’s a mental health drink!

Cheers!!

You will need a large pitcher for this one.

Combine the following:

1 cup of quartered strawberries

1 cup of cherries, pitted and halved

1 nectarine or peach, peeled and chopped

1 cup of blueberries ( July is National Blueberry Month)

1 cup of raspberries

1/3 cup of brandy

Chill this mixture for at least 2 hours.

Stir in 1 1/2 cups of chilled peach nectar and a bottle ( 750 milliliter ) of chilled Prosecco

Serve over ice.

I used Prosecco Spago Nero. It is priced at under $15 and is a great sipper on it’s own. It is light bodied and fruity with a clean light finish.

I poured us some Sangria and stole a little bit of bliss! Here’s to summer!

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Sangria and the Backyard Beckons!

  1. Taina says:

    Mmmmm…that looks and sounds so yummy! I think I know what I’m drinking this weekend…thanks

Comments are closed.