It’s Not Summer Until It’s Wolffer’s

With all this weird weather we have been having, it certainly feels like summer. Very early. Very strange but not really complaining. I wait all year for summer. I am one of those people that thrive on that hot sticky season. I love the long sunlit days and humid nights. I love sitting on the deck or porch just hanging out and sipping my favorite Rose of all- Wolffer Rose.

I recently got a taste of the newest bottling and it was delicious.

This is a wine that pairs nicely with just about anything. I love it with grilled meats, seafood, cheeses or just as a sipper. It goes great with friends, family and also is lovely just to enjoy by yourself at the end of day.

It is medium bodied with a crisp, dry finish. This wine is fruity with intense notes of strawberries and peach and citrus. Great minerality. This Rose is a blend of 54% Merlot, 21% Chardonnay, 9% Pinot Noir, 8% Cabernet Franc and 8% Cabernet Sauvignon. That said, it is 100% fabulous! It is also priced at under $20 which is a great thing because I like to buy it by the case. That way I don’t mind sharing! When I was buying a bottle or two at a time I felt very stingy about sharing. Now I can spread the Wolffer word around!

Tonight we’ll be having it with some grilled shrimp.

Really easy and really delicious. First off you mix up the marinade for the shrimp. I think this would work really nice with scallops too.

Melt 1 stick of butter. Combine that with the following:

1/4 olive oil

1/4 minced fresh herbs of your choice – I used parsley, thyme and cilantro

3 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice

2-3 large cloves of garlic, crushed

1 tablespoon minced shallot

salt and pepper to taste

Next mix in the shrimp.

Marinate the whole thing at room temperature for 1 hour.

Thread the shrimp on to skewers and grill until cooked through.

I sauteed some spinach and made some rice as the accompaniment.

How simple was this recipe?? It looks impressive and is perfect for  quick weeknight dinner or a stress free meal for company!

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Life, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Not Summer Until It’s Wolffer’s

  1. Sounds awesome… Never heard of this wine…gonna have to try it sometime

    Cheers

  2. wineonmymind says:

    I am in love with it. Definitely check it out if you can find it.

Comments are closed.