The Perfect Margarita

It’s been unusually warm in New York these last few days and I have been spending more time outdoors. I am not complaining but it is a little weird!

I was inspired to put some of the cushions out on the outdoor furniture. I know – it’s still early but I couldn’t help myself. 

I sat outside with a glass of Prosecco and contemplated the yard.

I looked at the pool cover and dreamed of its removal. Maybe in a few short weeks!

I thought of all the fun times we have had in this yard. My nephews used to come over as soon as I opened the pool and they would swim with my daughters until their lips were blue. They loved it. Pool parties, BBQ’s, Sweet 16’s,  just hanging out. Can’t wait for the summer season to begin.

And nothing says summer more than a great Margarita and some salsa and chips.

I had some tomatoes hanging around that were just begging for some action. And come to think of it I had a few limes too. I think I smell summer!

I decided to make some Margaritas and have some chips and salsa!

I had most of the ingredients. Okay so I didn’t have the mango or cilantro or avocado. I ran out for some.

I made the salsa first because it needs to marinate for a half an hour.

Peel, seed and dice the mango and avocado.

Dice the tomatoes and add them. Then mince the jalapeno and garlic. I used the food processor.

Add a half a cup of chopped cilantro. Combine all the above.

Then stir in the salt, lime juice, red onion and olive oil.

Let this sit in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to marinate.

In the meantime you can mix up your Margarita!!!

Nothing funky, nothing fancy just a plain old straight up Margarita with salt. That’s my favorite.

It’s so easy you don’t need any of those pre-mixes or triple sec . Just a good agave Tequila, Grand Marnier and some fresh limes. Oh and don’t forget the kosher salt for the rim!

Rub a slice of lime on the rim of your glass and then dip the glass in some kosher salt to coat.

Here is the ratio for the Margarita: 3:2:1

Easy right!!! Even after you’ve had a few!

Shake and strain into a glass.

Enjoy with some chips and the salsa! I love the multi grain tortilla chips. Makes me feel like I am eating something healthy. That and the vegetables in the salsa. I might even skip spin class!!!

Summer here we come!!!!

So here are the recipes:

Salsa first:

1 mango peeled and diced

1 avocado, peeled and diced

4 medium tomatoes diced

1 jalapeno pepper seeded and minced

3 cloves garlic minced

1/2 cup of chopped cilantro

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1 tsp. salt

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

3 tablespoons olive oil

Combine the mango, avocado, tomatoes, jalapeno, cilantro and garlic in a bowl. Mix in the

salt , red onion, lime juice and olive oil. Marinate in the fridge for a half hour or so before serving.

Margaritas:

Use Agave Tequila, Grand Marnier and fresh lime juice. Use kosher salt for the rim of the glasses.

Rub the rim of the glasses with the fresh lime and then dredge in the kosher salt to coat.

This is the ratio for the drink ingredients – 3:2:1

Pour all ingredients in a shaker. Add ice. Shake well and pour through strainer into glasses.

Cheers!!!!!

Bring it on summer!!

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Perfect Margarita

  1. That looks like some delicious salsa. Down here in Texas it’s usually more soupy; I want to try your recipe 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    This is definitely a perfect margarita, and the salsa looks pretty scrumptious too!

Comments are closed.