To Nanci- My Hero, My Friend

I heard the most overwhelmingly sad news the other day. A dear friend who has been fighting cancer for the last three years is losing the battle against the beast that is ovarian cancer. The tide has turned for her and as always she has risen majestically to set a shining example of grace and courage. And what did I do ( besides offering love and support )? I turned to comfort food. Not chips or cookies or chocolate but food. Real food. Comfort food. We all have something that makes us feel good or better; some food that embraces our spirit and offers solace in a difficult time. My alter ego, Nunziah, emerged to help me in my quest for mine. I hopped in the car and drove to the Italian grocer.

A half hour later after a frenzied shopping spree I exited the store with a loaded cart.

Did I need any of this? Not really. We could probably survive for several weeks with the food in my pantry. But I now had the makings of some good old fashioned sauce and some food to pick on while it cooked.

What I needed next was  a glass of wine.  I chose a bottle of red that a friend had given me to try. The Waxed Bat Shiraz Petit Verdot Malbec 2010 from Mendoza, Argentina.

Purply black in color, this wine has a long finish and tons of blackberry, licorice and pepper. Under $20

A little food and wine love was on the way.

Mickey decided at that moment that he needed to go out. I thought about just letting him out in the yard but decided that maybe a walk would be a good activity before stuffing my face.

It was a little colder than I expected. I braced myself and continued walking. And suddenly I was struck by the signs of spring. All around on my neighbor’s lawns I saw the early buds and shoots of spring flowers. Yesterday there appeared to be nothing. Today there was green. I thought of my friend. Even after the blackest of nights there is light, even after the bleakness of winter there is hope and new beginnings. I prayed for her easy passage and for her family’s faith in the continuance of life.

Here is how you can help:

Go to Wine On My Mind.com using these links  http://bit.ly/vdgLDs or http://bit.ly/w37hbq and purchase one of these products. We donate 10% of your purchase price to Circle of Strength and Ovarian Cancer Research  http://www.thecircleofstrengthinc.com/

Help fund research to fight Ovarian Cancer!

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Nanci- My Hero, My Friend

  1. Beautiful post. My prayers & heart go out to you & your friend in this amazing time of need. I call it amazing because even though its difficult; it’s what makes us stronger. Cheers to friends! “clink”

  2. wineonmymind says:

    Cheers and thanks for the kind words.

Comments are closed.