Calamari and A Great Chardonnay

I found a terrific recipe the other day for calamari. It looked easy and delicious in it’s simplicity.

The recommended accompaniment was bread so I already knew I had a winner. George would love this.

I rinsed the calamari and cut it into pieces.

I love calamari and I am not squeamish in the kitchen. Normally I don’t mind sticking my hand in a turkey to remove the gizzards or putting lobsters in a pot to steam but I have to admit that after a few minutes of handling the raw fish and tentacles I was a little nauseous. I needed some of that wine I was using in the recipe for fortification.  I poured a glass of Lincourt Chardonnay Steel and waited for courage.

I chopped the parsley and garlic. I actually used the food processor. It was easier and I am a sloppy chopper often quitting long before the suggested chopping size is reached.

I heated up the olive oil and sauteed the parsley, garlic and red pepper flakes. ( I really think I did not measure the pepper flakes accurately )

Have I ever mentioned how much I love my Le Creuset cookware? Yes I did! But let me tell you again – I love these workhorse pots and pans! And no they don’t pay me to say that!!

I added the calamari and then the wine.

Then I added the tomatoes, water, salt and pepper. I also added a little thyme and basil       ( not in the recipe but I thought it would taste good ).

I used a potato masher to chop up the tomatoes while they were in the pot. And then I waited for the whole thing to cook. While I waited I had some more wine. It was very crisp and clean with notes of apple and pear. No oak here. I don’t really love oak so this was a perfect Chardonnay for me. Nice long finish. Under$20

After about 30 minutes I did a little taste testing. Ow! That sauce was very spicy. A little too much red pepper flake for me. Now what?

I remembered once reading that cooking a potato in the sauce would lessen the kick. I decided to try this out. Lo and behold – it actually worked!! Usually my attempts to reduce the spiciness of a dish involve adding lots more wine. This potato method worked great. No additional wine needed in the pot means more to drink. Do you like my thinking?

I cooked some fresh pappardelle and served dinner. I used the extra parsley as garnish.

This was a fantastically easy recipe. And it was delicious as it sounded!! The calamari was tender, the sauce was light and the red pepper flakes and garlic gave it just the right kick. Pair it with an unoaked Chardonnay. I really loved the Lincourt. The crisp minerality really stood up to the spice of the seafood. Yum!

Here is the link if you want to try it:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Garlic-and-Herb-Braised-Squid-351179

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.