Something to Warm You Up on a Cold Winter Night

Winter. Cold. Time to get out the slow cooker.  Did I mention I love my slow cooker? I know it’s silly but it always makes me feel as though someone else is cooking dinner for me. What could be better than that? Well… maybe if someone WAS actually cooking dinner for me! Oh well. A girl can dream, right? Another beautiful thing about this recipe is that there is not a lot to clean up afterward. I don’t know about you but after the whirlwind of holiday cooking and entertaining I need something easy for dinner tonight.

One thing I love to make in the slow cooker is chili. I have a recipe I got years ago that I have adapted over time. A tweak here, a tweak there and I just keep working on it. It does involve some prep but then you get to put the whole thing in the cooker and wait for it to fill your house with the aroma of hot chili. Yum!

Chop up some celery, onions and  pepper and saute them in some oil.

Next brown some beef chuck stewing meat in the pan with some brown sugar.

You just need a bit of that brown sugar. Add all this to the slow cooker. Then pour in the red beans, diced tomatoes, green chilies, and the chili powder, cumin, tabasco, tomato paste and beer. Salt to taste.

Turn the cooker on to low and cook for 8-10 hours. The meat should be falling apart at this point. Perfect!!

I make corn bread as the side and serve the chili with some chopped green onion, shredded cheese.

Perfect with a bottle of Tempranillo. We poured Clos de Torribas Tempranillo 2006. Priced at under $20 This is a medium bodied wine with notes of cherry, tobacco and spice.

Great dinner. Great wine. You can adjust the spiciness of the chili to satisfy whatever level of heat you are comfortable with. Love this one!

Here are the recipes:

Chili

2 lbs. beef chuck stewing meat

2 large cans of red beans

2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes

1 4.5 oz can of chopped green chilies

1 can of tomato paste

1 bell pepper

1 large onion

2 stalks of celery

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 bottle of beer

2 tablespoons chili powder

1 tablespoon cumin

Tabasco sauce- 6 squirts or to taste

Salt to taste

Saute celery, onion and pepper in pan until soft. Brown the meat. Add all ingredients to the slow cooker and cook on low 8-10 hours.

Corn Bread

1 3/4 cups of all purpose flour

1 cup cornmeal

1/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/4 cups of milk ( I used 2% )

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 large egg

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Lightly grease a 9 inch cast iron skillet

In medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl whisk together the milk, melted butter and egg.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until just combined.

Spread the batter into the prepared skillet.

Baking for 20-25 minutes until the edges just begin to pull away from the pan and toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Remove from oven and cool on rack before cutting. Serve warm.

I love the leftover corn bread lightly toasted and buttered with my coffee in the morning.You can also add some chopped jalepeno peppers and some cilantro to the batter if you want to spice it up a bit.

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something to Warm You Up on a Cold Winter Night

  1. Pingback: Chili for the slow cooker | Chef Doru's Blog

Comments are closed.