BBQ Thursday!

In the mad rush of this week I know you are thinking Christmas cookies, latkes, last minute shopping…I am too. Next weekend we are having Latke Friday and Seven Fishes Saturday. I am cooking for both days and having lots of family all weekend long. But today I wanted to carve out a little quiet time for myself. Nothing does that better for me than a little cooking. Not follow a recipe cooking but have some fun and throw things together kind of cooking. I decided to BBQ. Yes, I am one of those. I BBQ all year long. Nothing stops me except snow piled so high out my back door that I can’t make my way to the grill. So tonight we are having lamb chops, marinated and grilled. I love lamb chops. I don’t love leg of lamb. Too much like the real animal. I can’t eat duck either. Although all the recipes for duck always sound so delicious, the crackling skin and all but I just can’t bring myself to cook and eat it.

George is the kind of guy that could eat toast and coffee for dinner every night of his life happily ignoring all the food groups out there. I like to have fun with food too much to do that. But I know that too many ingredients or unusual additions to a dish will make him say, ” you don’t really expect me to eat that, do you?” so I work within my constraints.
I enjoy standing on my back deck watching the food cook and having a glass of wine. It’s like a meditation.
But let’s get back to the lamb chops.
A little marinade is in order. Mix up some olive oil, balsamic vinegar, Dijon mustard, garlic, fresh thyme and rosemary and some salt and pepper. Pour it on the lamb. Let the marinade do its job for twenty or thirty minutes. Find something else to do in the meantime. I usually open a bottle of wine and get ready for the big BBQ moment.
Tonight I opened a bottle of  Primarius Pinot Noir 2009. It’s a bottle my sister brought up from Virginia last month. She’s my partner in wine.  It’s priced at under $20 It seemed like a good night to try it.
I tossed up a salad and put a Greek spin on it with some feta cheese and some olives. I used a Greek rub in my salad dressing to continue with the theme and some fresh dill. I mixed some potatoes up with olive oil and salt and pepper and put them in the oven to roast.
    
Time for a little sip of that wine. I poured a glass, carried it outside and lit the grill. My outdoor furniture looks so sad without the cushions.
Nice wine. Very smooth finish with notes of berry and wood.
Dinner is served!!
The wine paired well with the grilled lamb. Even George enjoyed it. He did ask what those pieces of tree were  in his lamb!! LOL! I’ll never tell.
About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Life, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.