Lunch at Cabo!

Saturday was an especially beautiful day. The temperature had climbed into the low 80’s and it was easy to pretend it was still summer. My daughter, Emily, was in town for the day. We decided to do lunch. What could be better than lunch with my daughter except lunch with my daughter al fresco!

We ventured into Rockville Centre, NY. George hates Mexican food so the minute he said he wouldn’t be joining us we jumped on the margarita train! Cabo is a Mexican place that has been there for quite a few years. No mean feat in a town that seems to sprout new restaurants overnight.

Cabo makes a terrific Sangria but it just seemed like a margarita kind of day. Emily got hers frozen. I went for rocks and salt. They came with a plate of warm chips and spicy salsa.

We ordered our food and caught up on some girl talk.

Cabos Famous Chalupas –  a crispy tortilla layered with beans, cheese, jalapenos and guacamole.

Steak Alambre – marinated steak skewered and grilled with onion, tomato and pepper and served with rice and ” dos colores salsa “. Delicious and I didn’t feel quite so guilty at eating Mexican food.

Cabo is a fun lunch spot. They serve dinner as well.

Empty bar stools are a rarity here.  At night you can barely squeeze in the door and the two bars are always packed.

We lucked out. It was relatively quiet. We got an outdoor table. We had some quality mother daughter time. The margaritas  were perfect. And the food was delicious!

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Dining Out, Family, Food, Wine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.