Short Ribs Stick to Your Ribs

Cold weather is coming. I hate cold weather. But nothing makes you feel warmer than a good hearty meal and a glass of red wine. Unless you are lying on a beach somewhere in which case I’d pass on the hearty meal and enjoy a margarita, rocks, salt!!

I recently made short ribs for a holiday dinner. I’ve made them before. They are fairly easy to prepare. The hardest part is letting them cook for hours in the oven while the aroma fills the house and knowing you have to wait to dig into them.

I chose this recipe from Bon Appetit for my dinner. I have to admit I chose it because it involved  an entire bottle of red wine. Yes, that’s right,  an entire bottle. Not just a cup or two, but one.. whole..bottle of Cabernet! YES!!

Season with lots of salt and pepper and then brown in oil.  Transfer the ribs to a plate and add the onions, carrots and celery to the pot and cook until the onions are browned.

Add flour and tomato paste and keep stirring until a deep red.

I used Organic Millet Flour because my daughter is gluten free.

Being gluten free really makes you rethink all your ingredients. Some gluten free products are more successful  than others in tasting like actual gluten. I tried a few gluten free flours and I like this one.

Next, and this is my favorite part, stir in the bottle of wine!  Use wine you would actually drink. Buy two bottles and while this is cooking or while you are preparing it open the second bottle and pour yourself a glass. I like short term gratification!

Add the short ribs and cook until the wine is reduced by half. The wine in the pot, not the wine in the second bottle!

Add all the herbs and the garlic to the pot.

Stir in the stock. Bring to a boil. Cover and transfer to oven.

Cook until the ribs are tender, about 2-2 1/2 hours. Strain the sauce, spoon off the fat from the sauce and season with salt and pepper.

These short ribs rock! Serve them with mashed potatoes or any other starch you love.

I served this meal with Cannonball Cabernet Sauvignon 2007. And yes I bought 2 bottles and one went into the pot!

Here is the link for the recipe.

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2011/10/red-wine-braised-short-ribs

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family, Food, Life, Wine and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.