Feast of San Gennaro

I love the Feast of San Gennaro. I love the food, the wine, the crowds of people all looking to have fun and enjoy!!! I especially love the Feast when the weather cooperates. Yesterday was that kind of day. We got there fairly early. We took the bike because parking can be tough.

We came hungry and were quickly overcome by all the magnificent food choices and all the aromas of Little Italy.

Mulberry Street is the heart of the Feast. The streets are decorated with arches of green, white and red. The restaurants move tables outside. There are vendors and games of chance.

I love the food the most.

The real reason for the Feast is to honor the Patron Saint of Naples – San Gennaro or St. Januarius. It is an eleven day celebration that includes a religious procession. After the procession there is a Celebratory Mass held at the Most Precious Blood Church on Mulberry Street, the National Shrine of San Gennaro.

This year we stopped for a little red wine…

and a little conversation. We met some very nice people.

We ate sausage and peppers, clams and then we stopped for calamari at Casa Bella. We couldn’t help looking at what everyone was eating along the way.

It is hard not to want a taste of everything.

And then there is dessert…

And my favorite… zeppole! Hot and dusted with powdered sugar, it is heaven!!

Can’t wait until next year and the opportunity to ” Feast ” again!

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Dining Out, Food, Holidays, Life, Wine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.