Maryland Crabs and a Great Chardonnay!

If you have never had Maryland blue claw crabs then you are missing out on one of life’s great food experiences. We first had the opportunity to eat these spicy crabs at my sister’s house in Northern Virginia. It was love at first bite. My sister and her family have been getting their crabs at Captain Pell’s Fairfax Crab House for years now. Captain Pell’s is well known in this area for their delicious crabs and family atmosphere.

Nothing fancy here but what an experience and the best crabs ever. The tables are covered with brown paper and with wooden mallet in hand you unceremoniously crack and eat the sweet meat. Dip it in butter and cider vinegar and you are in heaven.

            

If you eat them at home you had better cover your table in layers and layers of old newspaper and then crack away!!!!

Captain Pell’s doesn’t normally get crabs in on Mondays but they were so wonderfully kind to my sister and brought them in especially for her to transport to New York. They made sure we had the biggest crabs they could get and even threw in a few extra. They packaged them carefully for their trip up to New York by car.

Once they got here we put them in the fridge for a few hours until the rest of the family arrived. Meanwhile we had a great visit with my sister and her kids. My nephew is being deployed to Afghanistan in a few weeks and he was home on leave. They came up to New York so we could all spend some time together before he ships out. Around here family visits mean lots of food and wine. We ate and talked all afternoon. Finally we decided we couldn’t wait any longer to eat these guys.

My sister giving newspaper arranging directions!

Now there’s a happy man!!! Come home safe from Afghanistan!

Much cracking later—

We even had a few left over to send to NYC  where they made this guy very happy as well!

Crabs really do go best with icy cold beer but we left the beer to everyone else and my sister and I paired ours with Silver Palm Chardonnay 2009 from Northern California. This is a delicious wine with lots of peach, apple and lemon. Very crisp and clean. It has a great mineral finish. It’s priced at under $20

We had a wonderful family reunion. We wish my nephew a safe return. Thank you Captain Pell’s!!!!!

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.