Claudio’s and a Great Chardonnay

We spent much of Saturday traveling the East End and particularly the North Fork of Long Island. We stopped at several wineries along the way. The road here is primarily two lane blacktop. Lots of farmstands, vineyards and traffic!! But the journey is well worth it. Long Island has become a wonderful wine producing region that is slowly becoming recognized for it’s excellence. At the end of the day and at the end of a long hot road we made it to Greenport and Claudio’s for a very late lunch and some drinks.

 

                                                                                                                                                                 

 

 

 

We headed for the Clam Bar. Claudio’s has several places on the dock to eat and drink – Crabby Jerry’s, Claudio’s Restaurant and the Clam Bar. We love the Clam Bar for it’s laid back feel and live music. While you may have to wait for a table or a place at the standing room only outdoor bar you can more easily find a place to sit at the indoor bar. We made ourselves comfortable while we read the menu. George ordered a beer and the foot long hot dog, inspired perhaps by the recent Coney Island hot dog eating contest and the fact that it is National Hotdog Month. I ordered the peel and eat shrimp. This is a wonderfully messy plate of jumbo shrimp in a spicy sweet sauce. I asked what white wines they had and was told there was something called Claudio’s Wine. This is a wine from Roanoke Vineyards and it is actually called Claudio’s Wild Ferment Chardonnay. This should have been my Wine On My Mind today… because it has quickly become my Wine On My Mind for the week… It is a Chardonnay that is largely fermented in stainless steel barrels. It is so crisp and clean and has a great mineral finish. Lots of pear and apple and a bit of lemon here. It was fabulous. I loved two glasses of it and have emailed Roanoke to see where I can purchase some more. I will keep you posted on this one.

 

 

 

                                Our next trip east will definitely include a visit to this vineyard. I am looking forward to tasting their Blend One which was selected as the Wine of The Year by New York Cork Report and which is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Merlot. This promises to be a nice juicy wine. I also look forward to sampling their Rose.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.