Wine Tasting at Elizabeth Spencer

My daughter Rachel has been living in Napa for the past year and a half working at Redd in Yountville as an assistant pastry chef. She is winding up her time in California and next week will be working her way towards New York for a brief stay before heading off to Chicago and the restaurant scene there. She has been getting in some last minute wine tasting and she sent me the following post.

Last week on a surprisingly warm spring day, a few friends and I went wine tasting at Elizabeth Spencer.

After tasting 5 different wines, I ended up buying a bottle of the 2007 Sonoma Coast Chardonnay. I thought it was a really well balanced, complex wine with a nice oaky quality. This Chardonnay is fresh, full-bodied and definitely enjoyable on its own. Another wine that stood out is their 2005 Mount Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon. It’s rare that they had it available to taste. It is usually only available for purchase if you are a member of their wine club. It is a bold, rich wine with a lot of tannins, and most of all it’s delicious!

Elizabeth Spencer                                                                                                                         

2007 E x S Block Seven

Chardonnay, Sonoma Coast

Appellation: Sonoma Coast
Varietal Blend: 100% Chardonnay
Production: 6 Barrels
Winemaker: Spencer Graham

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.