Rose Taste Test

In honor of National Shrimp Day I marinated and grilled some shrimp for dinner. I grilled some vegetables as well and tossed them with tortellini and some prosciutto for a warm pasta salad. Then we cracked open two bottles of rose wine to taste.

First up was Domaine de Fontsainte Gris de Gris 2009. Priced at $14.99, this was a nice little wine, very refreshing with a beautiful salmon color. It  was very easy to drink with notes of fresh strawberry and raspberry. Very juicy. Nice finish.  I preferred this one and George preferred the next wine.

The second wine we tried was L’Alycastre du Domaine de La Courtade 2010. This wine was priced at $13.99. The color was paler in comparison to the Gris de Gris. It too was crisp and refreshing with notes of strawberry, peach and watermelon. I found this to be a bit sweeter than the Gris de Gris.

I can see why these might be a nice alternative to a white wine. They are nice for summer drinking and great with seafood, however at heart I am a red wine drinker. These were just a bit too sweet for my taste. Think I will stick to red or white for now.

About wineonmymind

Hi- My name is Faith Brickel. I hope you will take the journey with me as I explore things wine and food related. Let's celebrate life together!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.